Destination Medical Center initiative spawns task forces - KTTC Rochester, Austin, Mason City News, Weather and Sports

Destination Medical Center initiative spawns Rochester community task forces


ROCHESTER, Minn. (KTTC) -- Mayo Clinic's "Destination Medical Center" initiative is taking on a new challenge to start the new year--it's cranking up eight different task forces to gather ideas from all sides on how to shape DMC so no one in Rochester feels left out.

On Monday, the Clinic's public affairs unit released the names of dozens of people who will be involved in creating an idea-gathering process during the month of January.  They will be meeting over the next four or five weeks to make sure that "the community input process encompasses the community as a whole."

A need for such an all-encompassing framework was foreseen last month by the Destination Medical Center Corporation (DMCC) Board, which set the eight task forces into motion.  Here are the key people who will be considering how to include everyone as DMC unfolds:

Arts and Culture/Civic/Entertainment

  • Audrey Betcher, chair
  • Annie Mack
  • Steven Schmidt
  • Anthony Rostvold
  • Jo Rian
  • Kim Sin
  • Annie Henderson
  • Gregory Stavrou
  • Mette Greisling

Commercial Research and Technology

  • Leon Clark, chair
  • Jamie Sundsbak
  • Brandon Sampson
  • Al Berning
  • Jim Rogers
  • Scott Rosenow
  • Bill Rapp
  • Shruthi Naik
  • Mark Troutman

Health and Wellness

  • Michael Joyner, M.D., chair
  • Pete Giessen
  • Angela Dietrich
  • Jennifer St. Sauer
  • Jenny Weis
  • Wes Emmert
  • Kara Short


  • Brad Jones, chair
  • Steve Winter
  • April Cluckey
  • Linda Balgeman
  • Xavi Torres
  • Myron Salz
  • Jacob Malwitz
  • T.R. Wheeler
  • Lynette Jacobson

Learning Environment

  • Don Supalla, chair
  • Jessi Strinmoen
  • Regina Seabrook
  • Bethany Krom
  • Keeley Hruska
  • Jenny Hegland
  • Jim Gross
  • Patrick Gannon
  • Steve Troutman

Livable City/Retail/Dining

  • Mitzi Baker, chair
  • John Beltz
  • Jill Mickelson
  • Chris Colby
  • Fred Wills
  • Randy Schubring
  • Jeff Allman
  • Rabbi Michelle Werner

Sports, Recreation and Nature

  • Mike Nigbur, chair
  • Jim Mason
  • Dan Litzinger
  • Ben Boldt
  • Sally Gallager
  • Lori Forstie
  • Laurie Brownell
  • Michael O'Conner
  • Amy Eich
  • Rachel Prizler
  • Bob Benner


  • Marty Lenss, chair
  • Dave Pesch
  • Tim Giesler
  • Miquel Valdez
  • Katrin Frimannsdottir
  • Tony Knauer
  • April Sutor
  • Steve Elwood
  • Laura Elwood

"This is truly a great economic opportunity for the state of Minnesota," says Tina Smith, chair of the DMCC Board, in a statement to reporters. "It is exciting to see Rochester community members working together to create a process that will give everyone the opportunity to share their ideas as DMC evolves."

Destination Medical Center is an economic development concept given the weight of state law by the Minnesota Legislature in 2013, with public dollars committed to support private investment with the goal being to make the Mayo Clinic the world's global destination center for the best medical care.  Its architects intend to transform Rochester into a more cosmopolitan urban center over the next 20 years to help Mayo Clinic compete against other medical centers such as the Cleveland Clinic and Johns Hopkins in Baltimore. 

Powered by WorldNow
All content © Copyright 2001 - 2014 WorldNow and KTTC, a Quincy station.
All Rights Reserved. For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service and Mobile Privacy Policy & Terms of Service.

Persons with disabilities who need assistance with issues relating to the content of this station's public inspection file should contact Administrative Assistant Jodi Neyens at (507) 280-5104. Questions or concerns relating to the accessibility of the FCC's online public file system should be directed to the FCC at 888-225-5322, at 888-835-5322 (TTY) or at