2 Rochester students named U.S. Presidential Scholars - KTTC Rochester, Austin, Mason City News, Weather and Sports

2 Rochester students named U.S. Presidential Scholars


WASHINGTON, D.C. (KTTC) -- Two Rochester high school students have been named U.S. Presidential Scholars.

John Marshall senior Alexander Cheng and Century senior Jennifer Kim are the only students from Minnesota and among 141 students nationwide to receive the honor.

The White House Commission on Presidential Scholars picked the students based on their grades, leadership qualities, essays and school evaluations.

The U.S. Presidential Scholars Program started in 1964 and has honored more than 6,000 of the nation's top-performing students. In 1979 the program was expanded to recognize students who excel in the visual, literary and performing arts.

This year's scholars will be honored in Washington, D.C. on June 16 and will receive a Presidential Scholar Medallion.

Powered by WorldNow
All content © Copyright 2001 - 2014 WorldNow and KTTC, a Quincy station.
All Rights Reserved. For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service and Mobile Privacy Policy & Terms of Service.

Persons with disabilities who need assistance with issues relating to the content of this station's public inspection file should contact Administrative Assistant Jodi Neyens at (507) 280-5104. Questions or concerns relating to the accessibility of the FCC's online public file system should be directed to the FCC at 888-225-5322, at 888-835-5322 (TTY) or at fccinfo@fcc.gov.