4 DFLers face off in primary for open House seat - KTTC Rochester, Austin, Mason City News, Weather and Sports

4 DFLers face off in primary for open House seat


ST. PAUL, Minn. (AP) -- There will be a special primary election at the end of January for four Democrats vying to fill an open southern Minnesota state House seat.

Secretary of State Mark Ritchie says Thursday that the election will be held Jan. 29. They are running to fill a seat vacated by former DFL Rep. Terry Morrow of St. Peter.

The primary candidates are teacher and union activist Robin Courrier, Minnesota State professor Clark Johnson, North Mankato farmer Karl Johnson and St. Peter Mayor Tim Strand. The winner will face Republican Allen Quist and the Independence Party's Tim Gieseke in a Feb. 12 special election.

The district's DFLers are meeting Saturday to endorse one of the candidates.

There will be no special primary election for another open House seat in St. Cloud, because only one candidate from each major party has filed to run.

Powered by WorldNow
All content © Copyright 2001 - 2014 WorldNow and KTTC, a Quincy station.
All Rights Reserved. For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service and Mobile Privacy Policy & Terms of Service.

Persons with disabilities who need assistance with issues relating to the content of this station's public inspection file should contact Administrative Assistant Jodi Neyens at (507) 280-5104. Questions or concerns relating to the accessibility of the FCC's online public file system should be directed to the FCC at 888-225-5322, at 888-835-5322 (TTY) or at fccinfo@fcc.gov.