Manziel, Klein, Te'o among Heisman finalists - KTTC Rochester, Austin, Mason City News, Weather and Sports

Manziel, Klein, Te'o among Heisman finalists


NEW YORK (AP) -- The Heisman Trophy finalists have been announced, and the trio consists of two quarterbacks and a linebacker from the nation's top-ranked team.

Texas A&M quarterback Johnny Manziel, Notre Dame linebacker Manti Te'o and Kansas quarterback Collin Klein will be on hand when the trophy is presented in New York on Saturday.

Manziel is the favorite to win college football's most prestigious award when it is presented Saturday night in New York. He would be the first freshman to win the Heisman and the first Texas A&M player since halfback John David Crow won the school's only Heisman in 1957.

Te'o is trying to become the first defense-only player to win a Heisman and the eighth player from Notre Dame.

Klein would be the first player from Kansas State to win the Heisman. On Monday, he won the Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award, given to the nation's top upperclassman quarterback.

Te'o has come away with two trophies on Monday, taking the Butkus Award as the nation's top linebacker, and the Bronko Nagurski Award as the country's top defensive player.

Powered by WorldNow
All content © Copyright 2001 - 2014 WorldNow and KTTC, a Quincy station.
All Rights Reserved. For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service and Mobile Privacy Policy & Terms of Service.

Persons with disabilities who need assistance with issues relating to the content of this station's public inspection file should contact Administrative Assistant Jodi Neyens at (507) 280-5104. Questions or concerns relating to the accessibility of the FCC's online public file system should be directed to the FCC at 888-225-5322, at 888-835-5322 (TTY) or at