Counties declared drought disaster areas - KTTC Rochester, Austin, Mason City News, Weather and Sports

Counties declared drought disaster areas

WASHINGTON (KTTC) -- Dozens of counties in Minnesota have been declared disaster areas because of the drought.

The declaration by the U.S. Department of Agriculture includes the following counties in southeastern Minnesota: Dodge, Fillmore, Freeborn, Mower, Houston, Olmsted, and Winona. Click here to view the full list.

The disaster declaration means farmers are eligible for emergency loan help from the Farm Service Agency.

The USDA uses the weekly U.S. Drought Monitor to help decide which counties to deem disaster areas.

Powered by Frankly