Who filed to run in local races? - KTTC Rochester, Austin, Mason City News, Weather and Sports

Who filed to run in local races?


ROCHESTER, Minn. (KTTC) -- Closer to home community members are filing for local elections. From state offices and county boards, to City council elections, it's sure to be a busy campaign season.

Looking through the list of candidates nearly everyone up for re-election has an opponent. Candidates began filing for open positions a little over two weeks ago and the deadline was Tuesday afternoon at 5.

In order to sign-up they had to pay a filing fee. Depending upon the position they're running for, it was as little as $2-dollars, or as much as $500-dollars.

There could be some big changes in Rochester's city government.

After being on city council for 14 years, two-term council president, Dennis Hanson is up for re-election.

"I'm excited about it, I've done it now for 8 years. I think the city has made a lot of great strides we've got a wonderful council, a great mayor and I just want to continue being part of the process," said Hanson.

Campaigning is something Hanson admits, he isn't too fond of, but it has to be done if he wants to stay top dog. His opponent is Rochester native, Jan Throndson.

"I want to give back to the city. I do a lot of things with the Veterans and organizations, I help and that and I would like to give back to the city, I think I have fresh ideas for city council and to represent all the people of Rochester," explained Throndson.

Also up for city council re-election are councilmembers for wards 2, 4 and 6.

Each of the council incumbents, Mike Wojcik, Mark Bilderback and Sandra Means have opponents.

In the race for Olmsted County Board of Commissioners, everyone is facing an opponent, except district 4 commissioner, Matt Flynn. He is not up for re-election - here's why.

"Due to redistricting each district may have had an increase of up to 5-percent or more in their population, the commissioner in district 4 did not, therefore that person does not have to run again," explained Mandy Ness, with Olmsted County's Assistant Elections Administrator.

Take a look at the bigger picture here, every incumbent commissioner has one opponent, if not two running against them.

Here are the incumbents in districts 1 and 2 Stephanie Podulke, Kenneth Brown. In district 3 and 5 Phil Wilson and Jim Bier. Finally, in district 6 Dave Perkins. District 7 is up for grabs, with no incumbent vying for their position.

Those who filed have until this Thursday to pull their name from the list of possible candidates in the fall election.

Powered by WorldNow
All content © Copyright 2001 - 2014 WorldNow and KTTC, a Quincy station.
All Rights Reserved. For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service and Mobile Privacy Policy & Terms of Service.

Persons with disabilities who need assistance with issues relating to the content of this station's public inspection file should contact Administrative Assistant Jodi Neyens at (507) 280-5104. Questions or concerns relating to the accessibility of the FCC's online public file system should be directed to the FCC at 888-225-5322, at 888-835-5322 (TTY) or at fccinfo@fcc.gov.